In January of 2003, the City of Louisville and Jefferson County merged into one government body known now as Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government, Louisville Metro is the short name.  Residents in the urban service area are protected by the Louisville Division of Fire, a Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) Chapter 95 Municipal Fire Department, while the Suburban Service area is protected by 14, Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) Chapter 75 Fire Districts. The Suburban area of Jefferson County, Kentucky spans more than 300 square miles, serviced by over 1,100 fire fighters; both volunteer and career members serve proudly.  You may find more information about a specific fire district by clicking on the DISTRICTS tab above.

Copyright © 2015 Jefferson County Fire. All rights reserved.